Foothill Staff Honored for Excellence

Two Foothill teachers and a counselor will be recognized for their outstanding work at next week's 19th annual Excellence in Education awards ceremony.
Teachers Linda Gullick and Lauren Gustafson, plus counselor Jennifer Roush will be honored for their outstanding work. They will be recognized at a ceremony on Wednesday, June 3 at 4 p.m. at Trinity Lutheran Church, 1225 Hopyard Road, in Pleasanton.
Staff members were nominated by parents and community members. The honorees were chosen by members of the Pleasanton PTA Council.
The award to recognize outstanding teachers and school staff members was started by community leaders to honor teachers and staffers who the community feels go above and beyond their regular jobs to provide outstanding service to our students.
The award was hosted by the Pleasanton Partnerships in Education for many years before the program was shelved in 2004. In 2007, the Pleasanton PTA Council brought back the tradition with another round of awards that spring.
Teachers, administrators and other school staff members are eligible for this award only once in their careers. Click here for a full list of honorees from this year and previous years.
This year's other honorees are Amber Azevedo (Amador Valley High School), Jonathan Grantham (Amador Valley High School), Kelly Maher (Hearst Elementary School), Inga Mannion (Hart Middle School), Donna May (Lydiksen Elementary School), Lisa O’Connor (Alisal Elementary School), Kevin O’Dea (Harvest Park Middle School), Renee Vernon (Walnut Grove Elementary School), Santos Castro (Pleasanton Middle School), Debbie Scott (Alisal Elementary School) and Charles Schaff (Lydiksen Elementary School). 
Congratulations to all the honorees!