Wrestlers Finish Perfect Seasons

Congratulations to Foothill's varsity wrestlers for their incredible undefeated season, giving the Falcons the East Bay Athletic League championship title.

The varsity wrestlers had a perfect 6 to 0 record for the entire season. The top title grab was made even sweeter by the fact that Foothill dominated cross-town rivals, Amador, with a score of 54 to 18 in the final meet of the season. The last time Foothill won the league championship was in 2006-2007.

The varsity team now advances to the North Coast Section dual team championship tournament. This is the fourth year varsity has qualified to compete in this tournament.

Not to be outdone, the junior varsity wrestlers capped an undefeated regular season with a shutout 77 to 0 victory over Amador. The team will compete in the junior varsity league tournament.

The varsity team's win coincided with senior night, a great way for eight seniors to finish their high school wrestling careers. Congratulations to seniors Jay Magee, Josh Goodman, Griffith Gates and team captains Blair Pacini, Kyle Batoy, Louis Desprez, JP Parisi and Zac Wilner.

The theme in the wrestling room this year is TEAM TEAM TEAM. The Falcons demonstrated that commitment to the team in every match of the dual meet. Winning 10 of the 14 weight classes, the outcome of the meet was never really in doubt as the team came out with fire in their eyes and ready to battle. Of special note were victories by senior team captains Blair Pacini (2nd period pin-to-win), Zac Wilner (1st period pin-to-win), Louis Desprez (2nd period pin-to-win) and JP Parisi.

Special thanks to varsity coaches Dennis Golcher and Bennie LaFever.

Foothill 54, Amador Valley 18
108 - AV Barrera d FHS Belichak 10-9
115 - FHS Pacini Pin AV Gaither 3:45
122 - AV Biasatti d FHS Maria-Cui 7-4
128 - FHS Wilner Pin AV Alviar 1:45
134 - FHS Braden OT d AV Duran 9-7
140 - FHS Desprez Pin AV Hamilton 3:17
147 - AV Lewis Pin FHS Nelson 1:03
154 - FHS Gallegos d AV Ines 3-0
162 - FHS Stover Pin AV Westcott 4:27
172 - FHS A.Knatt Pin AV Browne 1:18
184 - AV Veit Pin FHS Ordaz 1:23
197 - FHS Parisi Forfeit
222 - FHS Sutalo Inj Def AV Chubb
287 - FHS Dukleth Pin AV Ashley 0:49
EBAL Record: Foothill 6-0 (EBAL Champions)

Congratulations Falcons!

Posted Thursday, Feb. 7, 2013