Cheerleaders on Winning Streak

For a second weekend in a row, Foothill’s competition cheer teams returned from Southern California triumphant after dominating the last United Spirit Association (USA) Regional held at Brea Olinda High School. All teams qualified again for USA Nationals.

“These girls are the definition of perseverance," Coach Kim DeJoy said. "They traveled more than 1,700 miles to compete at three regionals during two consecutive weekends, and they never gave up."

Foothill’s varsity show cheer team faced its strongest competition of the season in Brea where Foothill was the only small team in a mixed category of seven small and medium squads competing in the varsity intermediate division, including the medium squad reigning national champion. Undaunted, Foothill’s near-perfect performance earned the team the coveted first-place award at the end of the day.

Foothill’s junior varsity (JV) show cheer squad took home third place in a tough category of seven other large JV show cheer novice teams, including the JV large squad reigning national champion.

Foothill’s intermediate group stunt team once again returned home victorious, claiming first place in a category of four intermediate group stunt teams. Foothill’s advanced group stunt team tied for second place in a fierce category of seven advanced group stunt teams, including the reigning national champion.

“Wow! Seven first-place awards in two weekends," Coach DeJoy said. "Proud doesn’t seem adequate to describe how I feel about these remarkable girls."

Brea was the fifth in a series of six competitions in which the Foothill teams will compete from November to February on their quest for back-to-back national titles when they return to USA Nationals in March. The teams travel next to UC Davis in February to compete in the USA California Open. You can support them on their journey by following them at

Varsity show cheer team includes Amanda Arnold, Zoe Cristobal, Sarina DeJoy, Bailey Downum, Michelle French, Camille Hamlin, Keri Kodama (captain), Amber Marquez, Emily Palange, Jordan Robinson, Gabriella Scalise and Natalie Wright.

JV show cheer team includes Cassidee Banks, Kailyn Coleman, Mackenzie Curran, Mitsu Dill, Shauna Dunlap, Jenna Edsen, Karina Galvez, Emma Loll, Maddy Maas, Sara Moore, Brie Morrissey, Erin Page, Jordan Robinson (co-captain), Taylor Sanchez (co-captain), Anika Simons, Stephanie Tasto and Noelle Viscaina.

Group stunt advanced team includes Zoe Cristobal, Bailey Downum, Michelle French, Gabriella Scalise and Natalie Wright.

Group stunt intermediate team includes Amanda Arnold, Haley Bean, Sarina DeJoy, Emily Palange and Anika Simons.

Injured reserve cheerleaders are 'Alakoka Kailahi, Morgan Greenup and Sabrina Stermer.

Kim DeJoy is the head coach for Foothill's nationally-ranked cheer squads and the varsity squad. She is assisted by Cheryl Holy and JV squad coaches Karen Maurice and Megan Moore.

The road to USA Nationals is 10 months long and takes an extremely high level of commitment from the cheerleaders and families. Foothill sports must fund 100 percent of their program costs, so Foothill competition cheer is extremely grateful for the support of the many sponsors that are helping to defray expenses and get the teams to USA Nationals.

Corporate sponsors are 24 Hour Fitness, California Spirit Elite, Inc., Custom Designs & Sports, Dickey's Barbecue Pit, Fresh Millions, Image Salon, Maas Brothers Powder Coating, Inc., Marleen Armstrong Insurance Agency, Olympic Orthodontics - Frederick L. Johnston DDS, Frank Guthrie DDS, Thompson Tom, DDS.

Friends and Family sponsors are Becky Dunn, Millie Dunn, Monte & Colleen Conway, Nana and Papa Souza, Ron Smith & Brent Haberman, The Moore Family, The Palange Family, Rick Storace, Birt & Kathleen Johnson, Jr., Don & Susanne Cary, Dr.  Morris Lee, John & Rita Hartman, Judith Johnson, Larry and Barbara Kiefer, Richard and Beverly Roman, Tony & Julie  Johnson, Barbara Faldmo, Birt & Preethi Johnson, Claudia Wells, Judy Kelso, Mary Ann and Randy LeQuieu, Mike Faldmo, Mulhern Family, Trina Johnson McCoy, Yolanda Moreno and Cathy Crawford.

Go Falcons!

PHOTOS from top
Junior varsity team
Varsity team
Group stunt teams