Cheerleaders Win Top Honors

Foothill’s competition cheerleaders had another strong showing at two back-to-back Southern California USA Regional competitions they attended this past weekend.

All Foothill cheer teams qualified again for USA Nationals this past Saturday and Sunday at the USA Regional competitions held at JSerra Catholic High School in San Juan Capistrano and Lakeside High School in Lake Elsinore.

Foothill’s varsity squad was awarded first place in the varsity show cheer intermediate division both days, competing in a mixed category of five small and medium varsity show cheer intermediate teams Saturday and one other team Sunday. Varsity competes as a small team at nationals.

The junior varsity (JV) squad was awarded first place in the JV show cheer novice-large division both days, competing against four other JV novice teams Saturday and four more on Sunday.

The group stunt advanced team was awarded fourth place Saturday and first place Sunday, competing against three other teams on Saturday and two on Sunday. The group stunt intermediate team did not compete this round due to an injury.

“These girls demonstrated tremendous resilience this weekend," Coach Kim DeJoy said. "Both show cheer teams had substitutions due to teammate injuries this past week, and each team got only one or two practices as a new team. I’m so proud to coach these amazing girls."

The competitions were the third and fourth in a series of six competitions in which the Foothill teams will compete from November to February on their quest for back-to-back national titles when they return to USA Nationals in March 2013. The teams will return to Southern California once more in January to compete in one last USA Regional. You can support them on their journey by following them at

The varsity show cheer team includes Amanda Arnold, Zoe Cristobal, Sarina DeJoy, Bailey Downum, Michelle French, Camille Hamlin, Keri Kodama (captain), Amber Marquez, Emily Palange, Jordan Robinson, Gabriella Scalise and Natalie Wright.

The JV show cheer team includes Cassidee Banks, Kailyn Coleman, Mackenzie Curran, Mitsu Dill, Shauna Dunlap, Jenna Edsen, Karina Galvez, Emma Loll, Maddy Maas, Sara Moore, Brie Morrissey, Erin Page, Jordan Robinson (co-captain), Taylor Sanchez (co-captain), Anika Simons, Stephanie Tasto and Noelle Viscaina.

The group stunt advanced team includes Zoe Cristobal, Bailey Downum, Michelle French, Gabriella Scalise and Natalie Wright. 

Injured reserve cheerleaders are Alakoka Kailahi, Morgan Greenup and Sabrina Stermer.

Congratulations to all of the cheerleaders for their outstanding performances.

Posted Monday, Jan. 14, 2013