Excellence in Education Awards

Teachers Lisa Fulton and Shannon Sos and Vice Principal Lori Vella are being honored with 2012 Excellence in Education Awards. The awards ceremony will be Monday, May 21 at 4 pm. at Trinity Lutheran Church, 1225 Hopyard Road.

The awards are given annually to outstanding school district employees, as nominated by school and community members. The program is sponsored by the Pleasanton PTA Council.

Fulton teaches sophomore honors English, senior literature & the dynamics of social justice and senior AP English literature.

"I am deeply grateful for the recognition, especially at the end of a particularly challenging year," Fulton said. "Being nominated by a parent and student is especially meaningful to me and is a strong motivation to keep pushing students toward their full potential."

Fulton is in her 10th year teaching at Foothill. Teaching is her second career after working a decade in the finance industry.

Sos teaches math, computer science and leadership. This is his first teaching job, which he's held for seven years. He came to Foothill after graduating from Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo in 2005.

"I feel extremely honored to be presented with this award," Sos said. "I am blessed to come to a job that I love every day, work with some of the most amazing people and teach a fantastic group of students. If not for the students, I would be just some crazy guy spouting off about my love for math and computers."

Vella has been vice principal at Foothill for eight years. She previously taught social science at Clayton Valley High School for five years after a 20-year career in the insurance industry.

"I am honored to be recognized by the Pleasanton PTA Council with this award," Vella said. "Helping Foothill students, community and staff to have the best possible high school experience is my passion. I'm lucky to be able to do this every day."

The other award winners are Mark Aubel (Amador Valley High School/Harvest Park Middle School); Patty
Bowser (Hearst Elementary); Tony Dennis (Amador Valley); Tina Gerstenberg (Fairlands Elementary); Debbie Harvey (Amador Valley); Diana Liggett (Lydiksen Elementary); Jim Rodgers (Valley View Elementary); Pam Throne (Fairlands Elementary); Renee Verostek (Harvest Park Middle School); and Kendra Zierau (Walnut Grove Elementary). 

Congratulations to Foothill's honorees.