Laws of Life Essay Winners

Foothill's most expressive writers were honored Friday at the Laws of Life essay luncheon hosted in honor of the contest winners.

The purpose of the essay contest is to get students to focus on the positive character traits touted by the school and community -- integrity, compassion, honesty, responsibility, self-discipline and respect.

Students who wrote the top 20 essays, as determined by an expansive panel of community judges, were  awarded cash prizes. Another 20 honorable mentions were recognized. There are five winners and honorable mentions per grade level.

Students who were honored and their parents gathered in the multipurpose room for the awards luncheon. Foothill administrators and school district dignitaries, such as school board members and district office staff, also attended.

Special thanks to Foothill's talented culinary students and teacher Margo Olsen for baking delicious brownies for the event. The students also helped set up the luncheon and served food. More thanks to Judi Palin in the front office for organizing the luncheon and to AABC Vice President Gillian Holmes for her hard work. Gillian was able to get Castlewood Country Club to donate the food, silverware and serving utensils for this year's event.

First-place winners got $100; second place, $75; third place, $50; fourth place, $30 and fifth place $20. Thank you to the school booster group, Academic & Activities Booster Club (AABC), for fully funding the entire event and prizes.

This year's Laws of Life essay winners are:
1st -- Katherine Downey
2nd -- Emily Williams
3rd -- (winner disqualified)
4th -- Kauhleen Mangayan
5th -- Danielle Roe
Honorable mentions -- Mary Gruen, Vivian Hare, Evelyn Minaise, Catherine Mayo & Lauren Urquidi

1st -- Sophia Angst
2nd -- Victoria Liu
3rd -- Alexandra Italiano
4th -- Mikaela Schwab
5th -- Kelley Dillard
Honorable mentions -- Sean Markel, Aldin Dallos, Lillian Martin, Leeane Chen & Selina Lao

1st -- Hannah Biehl
2nd -- Karbi Choudhury
3rd -- Madeline Taylor
4th -- Ellery Lea
5th -- Susan Cao
Honorable mentions -- Troy Knatt, Kaela Kim, Alexandra Keir & Diane Huang

1st -- Isabel Ashley
2nd -- Patricia Wang
3rd -- Madelyn Chen
4th -- Krinishka Ramanan
5th -- Cameron Casby
Honorable mentions -- Yujin Kim, Jessica Ou, Natala Janda, Abigail Kirk & Harrison Szeto

Angelea Eaton was honored for her outstanding artwork.

PHOTOS top to bottom
Senior Katherine Downey
Junior Sophia Angst
Sophomore Hannah Biehl
Freshman Isabel Ashley
Photos courtesy of Cheryl Palange

We strive for accuracy. If a name is misspelled, please drop a note to

Posted Friday, March 23, 2012