Cheerleaders Remain Victorious

Foothill's varsity and junior varsity cheer squads won first-place honors Sunday at the United Spirit Association's California Open state competition at The Pavilion at UC Davis.

The varsity cheer squad placed first in the varsity show cheer-intermediate category, competing against cheerleaders from seven other schools.

The undefeated junior varsity cheer squad won first place and the coveted grand champion title. The Falcons competed against three other schools in their category, junior varsity show cheer-novice. Grand champion means the Falcons had the highest overall score from the day's competitions. Foothill beat 34 other teams to claim the grand champion title, including 29 high schools and five middle schools competing in junior varsity, varsity and co-ed at all skill levels.

The victorious Falcons travel to Southern California in late March for a national competition.

The junior varsity squad includes:
Haley Bean
Zoe Cristobal
Mitsu Dill
Sarah Downey
Kelsey Emery
Michelle French
Rikki Holman
Emily Palange (captain)
Jordan Robinson
Taylor Sanchez
Jessica Smilovitz
Sabrina Stermer
Brittany Trevor
Natalie Wright

The varsity squad includes:
Amanda Arnold
Jori Berman (captain)
Sarina DeJoy
Caressa DeRosset
Bailey Downum
Diane Hadley
Camile Hamlin
Hayley Jefferies
'Alakoka Kailahi
Keri Kodama
Gabbie Scalise
Haley Zavvattero

Kim DeJoy is the head coach for Foothill's nationally-ranked cheer squads, assisted by Karen Maurice, Megan Moore and Cheryl Holy.

Special thanks to team mom Cheryl Palange for the photo and detailed competition information.

Congratulations to all of the cheerleaders for their outstanding performances.

Posted Sunday, Feb. 5, 2012