Tennis League Champions

Congratulations to Foothill's incredibly talented varsity girls tennis athletes for winning this year's East Bay Athletic League championship.

The tennis team played 14 league matches, one non-league pre-season match and one tournament, at which the team took first place. The team's lone defeat came early in the season when Foothill took on tennis powerhouse Monte Vista High School in Danville. Monte Vista's victory was short-lived, as the Falcons beat Monte Vista at a rematch at Foothill in October.

The league championship title was a nail-biter with Foothill and Monte Vista vying for the top title. Monte Vista was defeated by the private Carondelet High School of Concord, placing Foothill solidly in first place and giving the Falcons the league championship.

The tennis team champions are:
Navdeep Chahal
Jessica Chen
Leeane Chen
Shivani Doraiswami
Kayla Haykin
Taylor Hoppe
Camille Lusher
Melissa Muller
Kirtana Nadella
Ellen Ouyang
Kelsey Ouyang
Terri Scott
Allison Wong
Alicia Yang

The team is led by head coach Kendra Zierau and assistant coach Yvonne Hoppe.

Congratulations to Foothill's outstanding tennis athletes for winning the league championship!

Posted Thursday, Oct. 27, 2011