Foothill Teachers Honored

Two of Foothill's finest teachers were recognized for their outstanding work Sunday evening at the 8th annual Crystal Apple Awards.

Teachers Jeremy Detamore and David Middleton were honored as teachers who take the extra time and care to look after all students and help them in their school careers, while also giving guidance in living a good life.

"It means a lot to me to receive this award," Middleton said during his acceptance speech. "A lot of people don't get recognized. To all the people that care for kids who don't get recognized, including my wife, who cares for children selflessly, I accept this award on your behalf."

Detamore thanked fellow Foothill teachers and administrators for "working to create a culture where learning comes first and teaching comes first. Knowing that when the students come in every day, they've gone through other classrooms and other teachers where that's the focus. That's so important and so special and probably too rare in this country. More than anything else, it's  really an honor to work with the students that I work with every day."

The awards are given each year by local high school students from The Church of Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Students nominate teachers who not only have made learning more meaningful, but who also foster character values the students deem important in life. A committee of 10 students reviews all nominations and chooses the recipients. Two teachers each from Amador Valley and Dublin High Schools were also honored.

Previous Foothill honorees are Greg Haubner, Zach Lipman, Scott Gorsuch, JoAnn Koobatian, John Nix, Barbara Correia, Mary Crawbuck, Howard Gilleland, Scott Sears, Kurt Richey, Nina Rees, Ed Cloyd, Robert Loew and Dustin Collins.

Click here for a Pleasanton Patch article about the awards ceremony, including photos and videos of each teacher's acceptance speech.

Middleton was also chosen as an Excellence in Education award honoree. The awards are given annually to outstanding school district employees, as nominated by school and community members.

The awards ceremony will be Wednesday, June 1 at 4 p.m. at Trinity Lutheran Church, 1225 Hopyard Road. The awards are sponsored by the Pleasanton PTA Council.

Congratulations to Mr. Detamore and Mr. Middleton for their well-deserved recognition.

PHOTOS (from top): Jeremy Detamore accepts his award and gives his speech; David Middleton accepts his award and gives his speech; Detamore poses with Foothill students.
Photos courtesy of Ken Mano

Posted Tuesday, May 3, 2011