Mr. Foothill 2010

Foothill senior Matt Clark has been crowned Mr. Foothill after the wacky pageant was held March 3 before a standing-room-only crowd in the multipurpose room.


Mr. Foothill is a zany competition best described as a mash-up of the Miss America pageant, The Gong Show, burlesque and a Saturday Night Live skit gone awry.


The contest featured 12 seniors willing to embarrass themselves in front of family and friends in a pageant that included swimsuit, talent and evening wear competitions. The evening’s festivities culminated with an auction to raise money for Grad Night. Winners will enjoy an Italian luncheon with the Mr. Foothill contestant on whom they bid.


The 12 Mr. Foothill contestants are Aaron Bailey, Pat Berrigan, Zach Buen, Matt Clark, Steven Greenaway, Jordan Hu, Michael Lambrecht, Michael Marvive, Jake Rubinson, Kyle Suchland, Nick Uhm and Ephraim Vives.


The talent portion of the show featured contestants doing silly dances and goofy skits. The breakout star of the evening was Aaron Baily, Mr. July, who wore a wacky wig and oversized suit, but totally blew away the audience with his amazing voice when he belted out Italian tenor Andrea Bocelli’s famous song, Con Te Partiro.


In a classic revenge of the nerds scenario, tall and uber-thin Matt Clark, Mr. June, victoriously claimed the coveted title of Mr. Foothill, soundly beating his more muscular classmates. Matt was a clear crowd favorite from the start, drawing adoring screams with every geeky move. Click here to watch Matt's talent performance.


The crowd definitely got their money's worth and maybe a bit more than they’d bargained for at this over-the-top pageant. Kudos to all the contestants for an entertaining evening full of fantastic Foothill spirit.

Go to and search for "Mr. Foothill 2010" to see other videos from this year's show.

PHOTOS (from top to bottom)

1. Mr. Foothill contestants whip the crowd into a frenzy at a lunchtime preview.

2. Matt Clark, Aaron Bailey, Ephraim Vives and Steven Greenaway await the shows results in their evening wear.

3. Zach Buen, Nick Uhm, Matt Clark and Aaron Bailey on stage.

4. Matt Clark waves to his fans as the newly crowned Mr. Foothill.

Photos courtesy of the Foothill yearbook staff

Posted Friday, March 5, 2010