We the People Goes to State

Foothill's We the People competitive civics team won an impressive fourth-place ranking at the state championships held Feb. 3-5 in Sacramento.

The best 12 teams from across the state qualified for this intense competition at our state's capital. More than 400 students, teachers and judges took part in the 23rd annual California We the People, the Citizen and the Constitution State Finals.

Foothill's 28-member team held its own at this rigorous competition, eventually landing in the top one-third of competing teams. Irivngton High in Fremont came in third, Amador Valley took second place and Arcadia High near Los Angeles came in first and will represent California at the national contest in Washington, D.C.

Foothill qualified for the state contest by winning first place at the regional competition in San Francisco in late November.

We the People is a national program hosted by the Center for Civic Education. The program combines instruction and competition to enhance students' understanding of American democracy. Competitions are set up as simulated congressional hearings in which students testify before a panel of judges to demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles.

Foothill's We the People team includes Danial Asif, Naman Barman, Chris Chu, Ketaki Deshmane, Daniel Du, Alyssa Goard, Brian Guidoux, Tonya Hale, Aisha Hanif, Ken Huang, Neema Jyothiprakash, Ajey Kaushal, Eric Kim, Pranav Kumar, Lawrence Lam, Tim Lee, Astra Lincoln, Nidhi Mastey, Paul Nam, Prihatha Narasimmaraj, Sejal Popat, Vikram Ramakrishnan, Sharon Rubin, Jessica Saldinger, Erica Schoefer, Amy Tran, Jennifer Yang and Sonny Zhang.
The team is coached by teacher Jeremy Detamore.

Congratulations to the entire team for such an impressive showing at the state level!

Posted Monday, Feb. 8, 2010