We the People Qualifies for State

Foothill's We the People team beat out two San Francisco high schools to take top honors at the regional finals held Nov. 30 at San Francisco's history city hall.

Foothill's 28-member team advances to the California state finals in Sacramento in early February. Foothill will represent Region 2 at the state competition. (Amador Valley High is in a different competition region.)

We the People is a national program hosted by the Center for Civic Education. The program combines instruction and competition to enhance students' understanding of American democracy. Competitions are set up as simulated congressional hearings in which students testify before a panel of judges to demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles.

Foothill faced tough competition at the regional finals when Falcons competed against students from Leadership High School and the Galileo Academy of Science & Technology.

Foothill's We the People team includes Danial Asif, Naman Barman, Chris Chu, Ketaki Deshmane, Daniel Du, Alyssa Goard, Brian Guidoux, Tonya Hale, Aisha Hanif, Ken Huang, Neema Jyothiprakash, Ajey Kaushal, Eric Kim, Pranav Kumar, Lawrence Lam, Tim Lee, Astra Lincoln, Nidhi Mastey, Paul Nam, Prihatha Narasimmaraj, Sejal Popat, Vikram Ramakrishnan, Sharon Rubin, Jessica Saldinger, Erica Schoefer, Amy Tran, Jennifer Yang and Sonny Zhang.

Best of luck at the state finals!

Posted Wednesday, Dec. 2, 2009